Groundhog Day songs

Even though Groundhog Day falls on a Saturday this year, there is no reason not to celebrate the least stressful holiday of the year with your students this week.

Below you will find eight songs that you can sing with your kids this Friday.
Oh yeah and below those you will find two other songs that will forever remind me of “Groundhog Day”. Enjoy and let’s hope Punxsutawney Phil, Buckeye Chuck, Balzac Billy, General Beauregard Lee, Staten Island Chuck and Wiarton Willie do not see their shadow!!



Shadow Time

(to the tune of “The Itsy-bitsy Spider”)

The furry little groundhog
Goes in his hole to sleep,
Through the cold winter’s
Snow and ice so deep,
In February
He stretches to and fro,
Does the furry little groundhog
Get scared by his shadow?

Original Version Instrumental Version

Courtesy of: http://www.canteach.ca



I’m a Little Groundhog (Version #1)

(to the tune of “I’m a Little Teapot”)

I’m a little groundhog in my hole.
On February 2nd you will know.
If I see my shadow it will be,
Six more weeks of winter for you and me.

Original Version Instrumental Version

Courtesy of: http://fun-in-first.blogspot.com/



I’m a Little Groundhog (Version #2)

(to the tune of “I’m a Little Teapot”)

I’m a little groundhog short and stout,
February second I will come out.
If I see my shadow they will shout,
“Six weeks more winter without doubt!”

Original Version Instrumental Version

Courtesy of: http://www.canteach.ca



I’m A Little Groundhog (Version #3)

(to the tune of “I’m A Little Teapot”)

I’m a little groundhog, it’s my day.
Wake and stretch, go out and play.
Down in my burrow, down so deep,
Time to wake, from my long winter’s sleep.

Grumble, grumble, scratch, scratch,
Grunt, grunt, yawn.
I’ll eat my breakfast in your front lawn.
I’m a little groundhog, it’s my day.
Wake and stretch, go out and play.

Original Version Instrumental Version

Courtesy of: http://www.canteach.ca



Here’s a Little Groundhog

(to the tune of “I’m a Little Teapot”)

Here’s a little groundhog, furry and brown,
He’s popping up to look around.
If he sees his shadow, down he’ll go.
Then six more weeks of winter – Oh No!!

Original Version Instrumental Version

Courtesy of: http://www.canteach.ca



Groundhog Song

(to the tune of “Oh, My Darling Clementine”)

Mr. Groundhog, Mr. Groundhog,
Where are you today?
Mr. Groundhog, Mr. Groundhog,
Are you coming out to play?
If your shadow you do see,
Will you run away and hide?
Then more days of winter
We’ll expect to see outside.

Original Version Instrumental Version

Courtesy of: http://www.preschooleducation.com



Up on the Knob

(to the tune of “Up On The Housetop”)

Version 1: If Phil does not see his shadow

Up at the Knob the groundhogs pause
Sitting up and showing claws.
Is there a shadow here today?
If not spring is on the way.

Cheer, Cheer, Cheer
Spring is here!
Cheer, Cheer, Cheer
Spring is here!
Up at the Knob it is so clear
We’re waiting for Springtime to appear!

Version 2: If Phil sees his shadow

Up at the Knob the groundhogs pause
Sitting up and showing claws.
“I see my shadow.” says old Phil
Six more weeks of winter chill.

Boo, hoo, hoo,
We’re so blue!
Boo, hoo, hoo,
We’re so blue!
Up at the Knob when shadows come
Six more weeks till we have sun!

Original Version Instrumental Version

Courtesy of: http://www.preschooleducation.com



Hey, Mr. Groundhog!

(to the tune of “Are You Sleeping?”)

Sleeping groundhog, sleeping groundhog.
Today’s the day, today’s the day!
Tell us please if spring’s near.
Or will winter stay here?
Come out and stay, come out and stay!

Original Version Instrumental Version

Courtesy of: http://www.preschooleducation.com


Leave a Reply

