Teaching Similes and Metaphors with a lil’ twang!

My wife and I just got back yesterday from a little road trip down to Nashville. What an amazing place that is. Musicians everywhere, Honky Tonks at every corner and of course listening to country music the whole time.

I used to be a country hater back in the day, but honestly I would say it by far my favorite genre of music now a days.

The one thing I realized as I listened to nothing but country tunes the past few days is that there are a ton of similes and metaphors throughout the lyrics.

I realized that due to how popular the Teaching Similes and Metaphors with Taylor Swift post I had back in December was, I figured it would only be appropriate to have another post teaching these figures of speech with some more country artists.

Lonestar-I’m Already There
“I’m already there
Take a look around
I’m the sunshine in your hair
I’m the shadow on the ground
I’m the whisper in the wind
I’m your imaginary friend
And I know I’m in your prayers
Oh I’m already there”

“I’m already there
Don’t make a sound
I’m the beat in your heart
I’m the moonlight shining down
I’m the whisper in the wind
And I’ll be there until the end
Can you feel the love that we share
Oh I’m already there”

Tim McGraw-She’s My Kind Of Rain
“She’s my kind of rain
Like love in a drunken sky
She’s confetti falling
Down all night”

“So I wait
And I try
I confess like a child”

“She’s the sun set shadows
She’s like Rembrandt’s light
She’s the history that’s made at night
She’s my lost companion
She’s my dreaming tree
Together in this brief eternity
Summer days, winter snows
She’s all things to behold”

Keith Urban-You Gonna Fly
“You could be a blackbird
On the country street
Hiding from the world with a broken wing
But you better believe you’re gonna fly with me
You could be a songbird from New Orleans
Scared of the rain just as scared to sing
But you better believe you’re gonna fly with me”

Rascal Flatts-Life is a Highway
“Life’s like a road that you travel on
When there’s one day here and the next day gone
Sometimes you bend, sometimes you stand
Sometimes you turn your back to the wind
There’s a world outside ev’ry darkened door
Where blues won’t haunt you anymore
Where brave are free and lovers soar
Come ride with me to the distant shore
We won’t hesitate
To break down the garden gate
There’s not much time left today”

“Life is a highway
I wanna ride it all night long
If you’re going my way
I wanna drive it all night long”

Uncle Kracker-Smile
“You make me smile like the sun, fall outta bed
Sing like a bird,
Dizzy in my head
Spin like a record,
Crazy on a Sunday night
You make me dance like fool,
Forget how to breathe
Shine like gold,
Buzz like a bee
Just the thought of you can drive me wild
Oh, you make me smile”

“Even when you’re gone
Somehow you come along just like a flower pokin through the sidewalk crack”

Leave a Reply

