Don’t Laugh At Me!

I came across this song awhile back and thought it would be a good one to share with the teachers. It’s called “Don’t Laugh At Me.”

Pretty catchy song, but probably because I am a big fan of Brett Dennen (Listen to him on Spotify. He has some great jams. Comeback Kid, Sydney, Make Me Crazy…)

Anyways, back in 2003 Brett wrote and performed the majority of the songs on this album “Children’s Songs for Peace and a Better World”. Brett is a part of an non-profit organization called “The Mosaic Project”, that is worth checking out.

The song was actually written by Steve Seskin and was part of his story book called “Don’t Laugh at Me”. It might be a good read for your students, followed by playing this song.

Let me know if anyone has heard this song before or used it in your classroom.

For the country fans out there, Mark Willis also has his version of this song:

One thought on “Don’t Laugh At Me!

  1. I never thought about using this in the classroom. I love Mark Wills and I his version song, so I was hesitant about looking at another version. I love how Brett changes the God lyrics for better use in the public classroom seting. I listened to some of his other songs as well. I encourage other teachers to do the same. He clearly teaches about paece and anti bullying.
    Incidently, after looking for guitar chords for this song, I found that Mark Wills is not the original version, it seems that it was also done by Peter Paul and Mary.
    Thanks for this great website. As a teacher and a guitar player, I too have scoured the website for songs to use in the classroom, other than the old fashion stand by songs. This has some great ideas!

Leave a Reply

